top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Dutton

Shining a Light on Lighting

Lighting to me is a bit “decorative” meaning that it’s like hair… you can always change it as long as the wiring is done right. Spend your money wisely and invest in a good, licensed electrician who will give you ideas and consider new products in this always changing industry.


In the Rocky Bay Home project, we spent 11K on the electrician to include: wiring the new heating system, new hot water heater, building a new panel for the new utility room, wiring new ceiling fan and exhaust fans in the bathrooms, new under cabinet lighting, new recessed lighting in the kitchen and changing all switches (dimmable) and outlets to white.

Note: the security system, TV and Wi-Fi were all wired by those specific subcontractors as low-voltage.


I don’t like spending a ton of money on decorative lighting except in specific places: the kitchen sink OR island, foyer and over the dining room table. In the Rocky Bay Home project, I’m not spending money there either as this is a budget project. I have some fixtures that I’m reusing from the old shop that will go over the dining table and breakfast table from

. Everything else it going to be relatively inexpensive, but I want to make sure that they work together.

There are two phases of ordering lighting:


1. Installed Lights: these the electrician will need to know the product that you have selected as early as possible. MOST SPECIFICALLY are the bathroom vanity lights. You will see in the “Project Process” blog that I have lighting selections then immediately after that mirrors. Or you can flip the order, but they should be selected relatively together.


2. Plug-in Lights: These would include lamps for the most part but I’ll say that I do have on my list here wall sconces that plug in. Why? I like the look and function of a sconce next to a bed. It’s a personal choice, I just like having a night stand that is free to hold a book and a cup of water (no phone for me!).

Lighting can be inspiring and overwhelming all at once. There is so much on the market that even I have a hard time directing my clients in a direction. My suggestion is to consider the following to help you narrow down the options:

  • Finish: Match something existing to stay consistent with finishes thoughout the house, especially in the kitchen to work well with the faucet, knobs and pulls.

  • Shape: Stay with the mood already created in the room so if you have

  • Size: Measure twice and try avoiding mistakes. Make sure you read all specifications to verify that the fixture will fit.

If you are ordering online, be sure to open the box and inspect the fixture as soon as you receive it. Even if you are going to install it months later, you want to make sure that it is not damaged and that you like it. Then carefully mark the box and pack it up safely.


Remember, this should be fun! Lighting sets the tone for the space, think about what you want to say.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page