top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Dutton

Building a Bar

The family room bar at Rocky Bay Home drove me nuts for a solid month.


I tried to simply install a new tile backsplash but it was a solid wood backsplash connected to upper cabinets and integrated into the ugly upper cabinets. Standing there looking at it with my contractor, we decided to simply remove the upper cabinets and backsplash. There was existing under cabinet lighting that needed to be removed as well. This “clean slate” opened many options: a tile backsplash and new upper cabinets, a tile wall, shiplap with shelves or painted an accent color with shelves.


While I love the idea of a family room bar off the back deck and relatively close to the dock, I’m just not ready to financially commit to new cabinetry, countertops and tile. The sink is already plumbed so that is helpful and the black formica countertops aren’t terrible. So, decided to leave the base cabinets and formica countertop, replace the sink and faucet and have them install nickel-gap boards that I’ll paint white.


THE UPGRADE:


PAINT: I decided to paint the cabinetry (a rough barn board – thirsty for paint after 34 years) using C2 cabinetry paint.

SHIPLAP WALL: The builder installed a shiplap wall behind the bar providing interest, texture and basic distraction.

HARDWARE: The old hardware was hard on the eyes. What can I say, it was simply ugly. So, I removed the hardware and replaced it with new matte black hardware from Amazon ($10/ 10 qty). No, the holes didn’t match up so there are simply extra holes in the cabinets, but I don’t care, it’s better than the ugly ‘80’s stuff and I’m letting it go.

SINK & FAUCET: I ordered an inexpensive sink and faucet from Amazon. I made sure that it had the grate at the bottom to dry any dishes on and the faucet has a sprayer to keep the sink clean. I wanted a black matte faucet and since I don’t think it will be used much, I’m not concerned about quality.

SHELVES: I checked out several options, but my criteria were … wood, black metal and inexpensive. I landed on these shelves and they are perfect.

LIGHTING: The room doesn’t actually have overhead lighting (okay with me – I’m not a fan) and the bar area is dark. I opted for two table top lights in the brass finish. Yes, you have to cord switch the fixtures, but they are nice and subtle plus super functional. I tied down the cords with protectors for a clean look.


I’ve accessorized the shelves with plants for green, texture and oxygen. These are all leaves in water to go to root. Wine glass and beer glasses (yes, the “Rocky Bay Home” on the side) are perfect there. Special alcohol can also live on these shelves with other bar accessories.


I don’t know why this bar brought me so much angst. Perhaps I loved the idea of the function but wow, the look was rough. I also painted the trim to match the cabinetry and the windows white.


Slowly, it has come together to function as a fun family room complete with a bar.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page